Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The banned bookshop of Maggie Banks  Cover Image Book Book

The banned bookshop of Maggie Banks / Shauna Robinson.

Robinson, Shauna, (author.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781728246444
  • ISBN: 172824644X
  • Physical Description: 329 pages ; 21 cm
  • Publisher: Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Landmark, [2022]

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"From acclaimed author Shauna Robinson comes a bookish, millennial story about a young woman looking to start a new chapter in her life, and in doing so finds a community built around the books we love and the book club: fun, goofy, and totally against the rules. Catering to the stories folks actually want to read and making fun of the stuffy "classics", Maggie falls in love with books and realizes the power stories have to build community. But with a historical society itching to catch her and shut her down for good, and a budding relationship with an adorably strait-laced inspector weighing on her conscience, everything starts to fall apart. And just as Maggie feels herself becoming a part of the community, she unearths a town secret that could ruin everything. She'll have to figure out what's more important: the books that formed a small town's history, or the stories poised to change it all. A warm, funny book club read about community, finding yourself, and the transformative power of stories, The Banned Bookshop of Maggie Banks is a much-needed novel perfect for readers of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Bookish Life of Nina Hill. Praise for Must Love Books "A heartfelt and exciting debut...a wise and honest story of how it feels to be a young woman in search of yourself."-Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Malibu Rising "A tender reflection on finding your person while you're still desperately searching for yourself."-KJ Dell'Antonia, New York Times bestselling author of The Chicken Sisters "A book for book lovers... It's impossible not to root for Nora!"-Jesse Q. Sutanto, National Bestselling author of Dial A for Aunties"-- Provided by publisher.
Catering to the stories folks actually want to read and making fun of the stuffy "classics", Maggie falls in love with books and realizes the power stories have to build community. With a historical society itching to catch her and shut her down for good, and a budding relationship with an adorably strait-laced inspector weighing on her conscience, everything starts to fall apart. Just as Maggie feels herself becoming a part of the community, she unearths a town secret that could ruin everything. She'll have to figure out what's more important: the books that formed a small town's history, or the stories poised to change it all. -- adapted from publisher info
Subject: Booksellers and bookselling > Fiction.
Book clubs (Bookselling) > Fiction.
History > Societies, etc. > Fiction.

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Skagit Evergreen Libraries. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Burlington Public Library System. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Burlington Public Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 1 total copy.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Burlington Public Library F ROBINSON JAN 2023 39851001745562 New Fiction Copy hold Available -


Additional Resources